My Philippine Red Cross-MRBC Experience

A month after I finally passed the Philippine Nursing Licensure Exam and got my PRC license(wohoooo!) I decided to  “temporarily” join the Philippine Red Cross-Mindananao Regional Blood Center Institution, not just to volunteer but to train as a nurse phlebotomist. I was not really that serious about it, I joined mainly for fun and curiosity but then I didn’t realize it’s been a year already and I’m still a volunteer, though not that active anymore, and have totally been attached to the Red Cross family 🙂

My first Month (March 2015), I was a newbie and I didn’t  really want to come that often because I didn’t know anyone at all. My first blood extraction didn’t happen yet because I was still being trained, my assignment was to stay at the screening area and screen blood donors if they are capable to donate blood at their current state. That was what I did for almost a month.

Second Month (April 2015), I gained friends(fellow nurse volunteers, nurse staff, and medtechs) so I was often at the blood center because I still didn’t have a job and I didn’t really want to stay at home and do nothing. I already did my first blood extraction and it was successful, after that My training officer assigned me to join blood drives outside the office and it was the start of my unforgettable experiences at Red Cross.

Third Month (May 2015) I’m busy with Red Cross though it’s a voluntary job, I still enjoyed what I was doing. Who wouldn’t? you get to travel outside the city to conduct mobile blood drives, food was free(delicious and endless), transportation provided, and of course you get to meet a lot of new people, gain friends, connections, and acquaintance.

Fourth Month (June 2015), My whole life and career was still with Red Cross, I didn’t mind if I was not being paid because I was happy and I can see that I have improved as a phlebotomist. I also fell in-love with someone but it was only short lived.

Fifth Month (July 2015) I finally got my certificate from Red Cross where I’ve become a certified Nurse Phlebotomist after 300 + successful blood extraction. A proud moment in my career because Red Cross trained me well enough to become a skillful phlebotomist.

Sixth Month (August) My short lived romance ended, it was a sad chapter in my life at Red Cross. We parted ways because of certain personal reasons and because of that I needed to move on and so came Maria Reyna Xavier University Hospital. They hired me as a phlebotomist in their institution. The pay was good, they liked that I came from Red Cross, and I needed something to distract me from my heartache.

After that I only come at Red cross during my free time, I still visit friends, volunteer in my free time and participate in big events. I had a whole lot of experience at Red Cross that I wouldn’t exchange for anything. Now I’m currently a staff nurse at Capitol University Medical Center, a well developed tertiary hospital. But in my heart I will  always be a volunteer nurse phebotomist at Philippine Red Cross-Mindanao Regional Blood Center.

 

xx, Tracy 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

